9250 Lincoln St. NE

Blaine, MN 55434


Contact Us

Affordable | Community | Athletics​

© Fogerty Athletic Campus. Proudly created with


The dream of a civic center and ice arena to serve the communities of Blaine and Spring Lake Park was realized during the spring and summer of 1982, when hundreds of family members of the Blaine and Spring Lake Park Youth Hockey Associations came together, with a common goal, Ice Time! Thousands of  volunteered hours were donated to construction, fundraising and politicking resulting in the North Suburban Civic Center open it’s doors for the first time on October 25th, 1982.


Home to the Blaine and Spring Lake Park youth and high school hockey teams, the North Suburban Civic Center also became the site of the first indoor soccer facility in the area. An artificial turf was installed on the rink floor at the end of the hockey season and the area soccer players had a world class facility to practice and play in, to help prepare for the outdoor season. The spring indoor soccer program continues to be a big part of the facility now, with hundreds of kids participating each year.


In November of 1985, we lost a very important member of our Civic Center family. Francis “Fran” Fogerty, Mayor of the City of Blaine and a member of the Board of Directors, passed away unexpectedly. Fran was one of  three individuals that received special recognition for their extraordinary contributions towards the development of the facility. On the evening of January 16, 1986, a plaque was installed in the facility that reads;

“Fran gave a total commitment to the buildings construction and it’s excellence. He cared for it when it was done. When he called it the”ICE HOUSE” it was not to diminish the building, but to understate his contribution and to mask his affection and pride. This was so much like him. Because of this, the North Suburban Civic Center shall be named

Fogerty Arena, “The Ice House”.


Since that day, Fogerty Arena has continued to provide the communities of Blaine and Spring Lake Park with one of the State’s finest Civic Center/Ice Arenas.  Hosting thousands of youth and high school hockey games, hundreds of Tournaments from Mite Jamborees, to State Championships and even N.C.A.A. events,  such as the 2002 W.C.H.A. Women's Final Five.  Fogerty Arena and it’s staff continues to provide exceptional facilities for both local and regional users.


In June of 2000, another chapter in our history began with the planning of our second ice sheet. Fogerty Arena “North” was another extraordinary example of the abilities of the Spring Lake Park and Blaine hockey communities to work together to accomplish what many said could not be done. With the continued expansion of youth hockey and the addition of the women’s programs at the youth and high school levels, it became apparent that another rink was needed. With the Fogerty Staff coordinating the effort and sharing the costs with both hockey clubs, the construction of the new rink, along with dedicated locker rooms for all four High School teams and permanent off season equipment storage for the youth associations, began. On November 11, 2001, after 5 months of construction, the North Rink was open for business on time and on budget.


The next chapter in the extraordinary history of the Fogerty Arena may mirror the original project except this time the sport being played on the ice will be curling. In 2006 curling regained its medal status in the Winter Olympic Games and the sport’s growth is exploding in a way reminiscent of how youth hockey expanded in this county after the “Miracle on Ice” gold medal win by the 1980 men’s Olympic hockey team. With demand for curling ice soaring and only one other facility in the twin cities combined with a need to renovate a 30 year old refrigeration system in the original arena a feasibility study provided the guidance we needed. A third facility could be built with dedicated curling ice, a new ice plant for both the curling sheet and the original arena, new amenities for all our patrons including full food and beverage capabilities and be the needed source of revenue we were looking for to help hold down the ever increasing cost of hockey for our kids.


So now more than ever before, the entire staff here at the “The Ice House” would like to invite you to come by and enjoy a game or two, or a match or two and remember every day is a great day for hockey or curling”.  See you at the rink!

Board of Directors

The Fogerty Arena Board of Directors is a nine-member volunteer board that oversees the management and operation of Fogerty Arena. Of those nine directors, four represent Blaine Youth Hockey and two represent Spring Lake Park Youth Hockey, one represents the City of Blaine, one represents Anoka County and one is a Director-at-Large. The City and the County appoint their representatives on an annual basis and all other directors serve 3-year terms.


Name                    Position                        Rep. Of                   Expires                 Years Served

Paul Conery         President                      BYHA                     July of 2018        2006-

Larry Rundle       Vice President             SLPYA                    July of 2018        2000-

John Bauer          Treasure/Secretary    BYHA                     July of 2017        1985-

Tom Berquist                                             BYHA                     July of 2018         2002-

Tony Palumbo                                           Anoka County       Annually               2006-

Rex Nelson                                                Member at Large  July of 2016        2013-

Sean Noble                                                SLPYA                    July of 2017        2017-

Dave Clark                                                 City of Blaine         Annually               2002-

Chuck McQullian                                      BYHA                     July of 2017         2017-


If you have any comments, questions or concerns regarding Fogerty Arena and wish to address the Board of Directors you may email for more information or you are welcome to attend the next board meeting. The board meetings are held on the last Monday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Board Room.The current Board of Directors would also like to thank all those who have served on the Arena Board over the years, by honoring them on this page.Past Arena Board Members


George Ballenger 1982-1983

Dick Lang 1982-1983

Margaret Langfeld 1982-1984

Duane Hass 1982-1984

Fran Fogerty 1982-1985

Don Heman 1982-1986

Irv Lust 1982-1986

Joyce Schneider 1982-1986

Joe Quinn 1982-2006

Ron Parrucci 1983-1985& 1989-1999

Junior Sunsdah l1983-1989

Jim Snidarich 1983-1989& 1999-2001

Brian Koche r1984-1989

Charlie Achterkirch 1986-1988

Elwyn Tinklenberg 1986-1996

Leo Geisen 1986-1999

Tom Bloss 1986-2010

Steve Wrolstad 1989-1997

Don Neft 1989-2000

Richard Iacarella 1989-2009

Tom Ryan 1996-2002

Richard Nordlund1 997-2000

David DeMorrett 1999-2002

David Batche 2003-2006

Craig Turner 2010-2013

Sean Nelson 2009-2017

Bob Sikich 2000-2017

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now